Grantees: Texas

Texas Council of Community Centers

The Texas Council of Community Centers (Texas Council) represents 39 community mental health centers (CMHCs) that serve nearly 600,000 people across all 254 Texas counties. The Texas Council will focus on ensuring its members are well-positioned to meet a new requirement from the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) – by 2021, the state will require each Managed Care Organization (MCO) to support a provider network composed of 50% value-based and 25% risk-based contracts.

The Texas Council has developed many resources for its members to use in negotiating and contracting with MCOs. Through the Delta Center, the Texas Council seeks to incorporate behavioral health quality metrics and alternate payment methods throughout the CMHC system in Texas that support and sustain the CCBHC model of care. Although Texas is not an official federal CCBHC demonstration state, the planning grant experience set the stage for a state-sponsored CCBHC pilot in order to advance integration, care transformation, and payment reform, particularly in rural areas. Additionally, the 1115 Waiver in Texas—which funds bidirectional integration of physical and mental health service—will expire in 2021, so the Texas Council seeks to design sustainable payment models to continue these services when the current 1115 Waiver expires.



Jolene Rasmussen, MS
Director of Adult Behavioral Health, Texas Council

Policy Context